PAAI Awards

PAAI Awards

Each and every year the PAAI meets in June during our annual seminar, for the purpose of conducting our annual meeting and banquet. At the banquet we attempt to recognize those individuals in the PAAI who have made outstanding contributions throughout the year. The awards listed below have been established for this purpose. The problem becomes, who among our members should receive these awards? The Awards Committee, chaired by Tom Maher, is poised, and ready, to make recommendations as to award recipients, but they need to hear from our members as to who may be eligible for the awards.

If you know someone who would be deserving of one of the awards, send Tom an email and give him the information.
The awards must be in to the committee by May 15, 2017.

Tom Maher

Available Awards:

The George T. Lewis Jr. Investigative Achievement Award
To be given to an individual or individuals who have shown outstanding achievement and success through the use of his/her professional expertise in criminal or civil fields of fire/arson investigation.

Life Membership Award
May be conferred upon an active member in good standing for a period of ten (10) years who has rendered distinctive service to the PAAI and its purpose for a minimum of five (5) years. No more than two (2) nominations for LMA may be approved in any year.

Distinguished Service Award
Given to individuals who have shown outstanding service, effort, and direction to the purposes and objectives of the PAAI. It shall be limited to two (2) recipients.

Outstanding Accomplishment Award
For implementing and achieving a progressive, innovative and successful program to reduce the incidence of Arson.
This award may be presented to municipalities, agencies (law enforcement or private), and companies that have developed successful programs, which help, reduce the incidence of Arson.

Award of Recognition
Given to any individual or organization not affiliated with the PAAI, for services rendered to the PAAI and its purposes. No more than two (2) such awards may be given in any year. Given to any individual of the PAAI who performed an outstanding job in the past year in the best interest of the PAAI.

Photography Award
Open to members of the PAAI, who may submit five (5) or less 8 x 10 photos in color or black and white, fire related evidence. No identification marks shall be placed on the front of the print. On the back of the print, indicate the date, time, location of the photo, and the name of the photographer. Photos will be judged on content, technique and composition. First and Second place awards will be presented in three (3) categories:

1. Arson
2. Accidental/Fire Training
3. Video of an Investigation

Lawrence “Larry” Boyle Jr. P.A.A.I. Scholarship Program

Guidelines for applying for a P.A.A.I. Scholarship are outlined in part below:
To be eligible, applicants must be paid-up members in good standing of the P.A.A.I. Immediate family of paid-up members in good standing, or children of deceased members are also eligible.

Applicants must be enrolled, or planning to enroll, in the next scheduled semester of a two or four year accredited college or university that offers courses in police or fire sciences, including fire investigation, and related subjects. These courses must be taken in addition to other required subjects. Candidates taking under 12 credits per semester will have their award limited to payment of tuition and books.

Download application Larry Boyle Scholarship Application

Completed applications shall be returned to the Chairman of the Scholarship Committee, Tom Maher. NO LATER THAN MAY 15, 2017.

The Scholarship Committee will review applications, and a recommendation of the recipient will be made to the P.A.A.I. Board of Directors, whose decision will be final.

(Funding is provided by the sustaining membership, which designates their gifts for education purposes. General donations are also accepted for this fund.)

Submit the application below to:

Tom Maher